Mrs. Vivian Carter Mason, 3rd President (1953-1957)—Established a more organized national office and Sections emerged from local councils.

Dr. Dorothy Boulding Ferebee,

2nd President (1949-1953)— Placed emphasis on women's health and strengthened NCNW's programmatic thrusts.

Mrs. Mary McLeod Bethune,

Founder/President (1935-1949), established NCNW in 1935 as an "organization of organizations." Mrs. Bethune saw the need for harnessing the power and extending the leadership of African-American women through a national organization.

Dr. Dorothy Irene Height, 4th President/Chair (1957-2010) — Led NCNW for more than 50 years. Headed the efforts to have a statue of Mary McLeod Bethune erected in Washington, DC; established the Black Family Reunion Celebration; purchased headquarters bldg.; and established international program thrusts.



Dr. Barbara L. Shaw, 5th President/Chair (2010-2012) — Served as the transitional leader after the death of Dr. Height, ensuring that NCNW did not fail.

Ms. Ingrid Saunders Jones,

6th President/Chair (2012-2018) — Led the NCNW to financial solvency; rebuilt NCNW's infrastructure to include upgrading its technology; and stabilized the programs by implementing "Four For The Future," NCNW's program thrusts.